Holiday Baking – Eggless Chocolate Chip Cookies

The last was very high on emotional quotient. But I felt very good after offloading my inner thoughts in the blog. Indeed, writing is theraupetic. Whenever I am down, chocolate is what that brightens me up. This time it was Chocolate chip cookies.
CCC3
Niranjan’s school closed for end of academic year. He will be starting his Kindergarten in a week’s time. Surprisingly he is finding it a bit boring staying at home after attending the activities-filled nursery over the last few months. Apart from the usual colouring, writing, reading and playing I was running out of ideas to keep him occupied. All of a sudden , he asked for a chocolate cake and that gave me an idea. I aked if he would be interested in helping me bake cookies. He was excited and thats how I baked my first batch of chocolate chip cookies.

Again, Rosemarie Emro came to the rescue with the perfect recipe. Her eggless recipes are superb and the source for my eggless baking. All of the finished goods have got wonderful reviews.

Here’s the recipe:
Recipe adapted from Bakin’ without Eggs by Rosemarie Emro.Ingredients

1/4 cup butter , room temperature
1/2 of 1/3 rd cup of sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
3/4 cups of APF
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil ( I used Olive oil)
1 tablespooon water if needed
1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

CCC4

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180 C

2. In a large bowl cream butter and sugars till fluffy.

3. Slowly add flour and baking soda.

4. Add vanilla essence and oil and mix well

5. Fold in chocolate chips .

6. Drop rounded teaspoonsfuls on baking sheets 2 teaspoonfuls apart. Bake for 10 minutes.

Let them cool completely and have them with a glass of milk.

CCC6

Thats Niranjan enjoying the fruits of his labour.

CCC7

As I watch him, I suddenly miss his baby days. He has just finished his nursery and will be going to Kindergarten and I feel he is growing up too fast. When he was a baby I was waiting for him to grow up and now that he is growing up fast, I long for the times when he was a baby. I guess this is a great motherhood irony. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Holiday Baking – Eggless Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Sometimes even I long for the days that Maya was cute and cuddly. But really, I just enjoy her at 8 more than I ever did as a toddler!

    Very cute picture.

Leave a comment