Chocolate Caramel Slice

Ever since I bought the Baking Favourites published by the Austarlian Women’s Weekly, I have been eyeing the Chocolate Caramel Slice featured in it.The ingredients list was simple, the process was simple but the result , as shown in the pictures,  was gorgeous. I saved this for a special occasion. Now then, my friend Anita , who blogs here, invited me for tea. She had invited two of her other friends Anamika and Hasina . We had always heard of each other but were about to meet in person for the first time. I found my perfect reason for making Chocolate Caramel Slices.

After all, with such a recipe what could go wrong? Right? Wrong.

1. Firstly, the recipe is easy and simple to make only with other factors remaining constant. In other factors, your toddler’s moodswings count too, which I had undermined. So instead of starting tthe process at 12 noon , I ended up starting at 3 P.M which was bad coz the slices needed a setting hours of 3 hours and I was meeting them at 5.

2. The recipe asked for a shallow square pan but since I didnt have  one, I tried it in a 23 cm spring form pan, obviously round. My logic, anyways the slices need to set and springform pan will make it easier for me to get the final product out. Right? Wrong. The base layer worked out fine and I was pretty happy about it. Trouble started when I had to pour the second layer and bake for a further 25 mts. Now 10mts into the second round of baking, the women’s intuition in me asked me to check the oven. I kept resisting but the asking became prodding nad finally nagging. I yielded after a couple of mts. I opened the oven door only to find the second layer was all over the baking tray( mine is a MW cum convection oven , so you have a tray on which you will have to place the baking pan) on top of which the pan was placed. I switched off the oven and decided to quit. But after 5 mts, I hit upon an idea. I had a 24cm springform pan. I took the base from the 23cm pan and slid it into the 24cm pan,which I was sure will not leak and poured the rest of the layer from the baking tray. I put the pan bake in the oven and kept it for another 15mts.

3. It was 4 PM by this time and I had to keep the slices for setting. The recipe mentioned that I had to keep the slices in the refrigerator for 3 hrs. I ddnt have time so I kept the pan in the freezer.

4. Unfortunately, I couldnt take the slice for the meeting because it became too hard and I couldnt “slice” it. There, I have given you a perfect screenplay for disaster.

5. But wait, there’s more. My husband was delayed at work and my son’s shoes were in the car. And I carried my son all the way to Anu’s house. Fortunately, her house was close by. Thank God for small mercies!!!

Oh, wait, I didnt forget. This is a post about the slice and here is the recipe.

 

Recipe Source: Baking Favourites by Australian Women’s Weekly

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of all purpose flour

90gm butter, melted

1/3 cup dessicated coconut

1/3 cup brown sugar firmly packed

1 tin condensed milk

2 tablespoons maple syrup(  I used honey)

60 gms butter, extra

200gm dark chocolate chopped coarsely

2 teaspoons vegetable oil,( I used olive oil)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 170 C

2. Grease and line a 22cm square pan

3. In a mixing bowl, mix the flour, sugar , butter and coconut. Press the micture firmly in the baking pan. Bake for 15 mts. Cool slightly

4. Meanwhile, in a saucepan, mix the condensed milk, the extra butter and honey/syrup on a low heat. Mix until smooth. Pour over the first layer and bake for 25mts. Let it cool

5. Mix the chocolate and the oil over a low heat until. Pour over the condensed milk layer.

6. Set in the refrigerator for 3 hrs or until it is set.

7. Slice it and it can be stored in a airtight container for in refrigerator upto 4 days.

Well, I managed to pass some to Anita and she liked them. Hope you will like them towhen you make them.

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Caramel Slice

Leave a Reply

