Eggless Moist,Rich Chocolate cake with Balsamic Strawberry Filling

What is a birthday without chocolate cake? Even people who dont like chocolate cake ( they do exist), like to have it for their birthdays. Sri was getting bored of all the brownies and chocolate cake I had been trying all this while. So he was suggesting that his birthday cake something which doesnt have chocolate in it.Blasphemy. I was so disappointed. But when his birthday was around the corner, he wanted a chocolate cake. I was doing a little jig inside while outwardly I gave this sweet smile and said , “As you wish. “. Ever since I saw this post in Deeba’s PAB, I have been wanting to make it. It didnt materialise in the couple of occasions when I had planned to bake. Meanwhile, I came across this Moist, rich-tasting choclate cakein the book , Bakin’ Without Eggs by Rosemarie Emro. So, when Sri said that he wanted a chocolate cake, I found the perfect opportunity to combine the two – Chocolate Cake from the book and the filling and frosting from Deeba. And I am really glad I did. Without much ado, I will get down to the recipe.

Moist, Rich-Tasting Chocolate cake

Recipe Source: Bakin’ without Eggs by Rosemarie Emro

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups water

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

21/4 cups granulated sugar ( I used 1 cup of brown sugar and the rest granulated sugar)

1 1/4 cups cocoa powder

2 teapoons baking powder

1/2 cup light sour cream ( can be substituted with yoghurt)

3/4 cup vegetable oil (I used olive oil)

2 1/4 teaspoons vanilla essence

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 160 C. Lightly butter and dust  two 9 – inch round cake pans ( I used the same pan and baked twice)

2. In a saucepan, boil water  and add baking soda, stirring until dissolved. Remove from heat and keep aside.

3. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, cocoa and baking powder. Then aadd baking soda- water mixture. With a handheld electric mixer, set on medium speed, beat in the water and beat in one ata time sour cream, oil and vanilla, stirring intil completely mixed. Scrap the sides in between while mixing.

4. Pour batter in the pans and bake for 40-50 minutes or until cake tester inserted in centre comes out clean. Cool in pans for 15 minutes on wire rack and turn out onto plates. Cool completely before frosting.

Filling and Frosting:

I sliced the cakes into two so that I had 4 layers. I followed the filling and frosting  as shown by Deeba here.

This cake was likeed by all and the cake only gets better with days. Not that it will stay for many days. The book also says that this cake freezes well. This recipe is a keeper and I guess this is just the first of many times I will be making this. This cake gives you a satisfaction of having made something wonderful for your loved ones with its great moist and rich taste.

 

6 thoughts on “Eggless Moist,Rich Chocolate cake with Balsamic Strawberry Filling

  1. The was the yummiest cake ever!! Every bit of it was polished off in record time! A great recipe and wonderful effort. I love the web design. You are such a pro now , Gayathri

Leave a Reply

