A post to say Thank you

`This is a loooooooooong overdue post. I have no specific excuse or reason for this delay but it just happened. 😦

In our community there is a festival every month of the calendar except the May and June months. But of all the festivals, the one I look forward to the most is Diwali. During my childhood days, once the Navratri festivities get over, the planning for Diwali starts. My mom and my grandmother start planning for the sweets and savouries menu for the Big Day. Apart from the sweets , another major attraction this festival of lights had for me was the shopping for new clothes to be worn. Those days, we bought new clothes only for occasions such as birthday, Diwali and any other special occasions. So Diwali shopping was always looked forward to with great anticipation and excitement. The preparations always used to start a week in advance. Strong aroma of deep fried oil and the ghee used to welcome us when we came back from school. Another thing I must mention is that this is one festival where we didnt have to wait for the actual day for eating the sweets prepared. Let me explain. In all the other festivals, there are specific sweets to be prepared and had to be offered as Prasad to the Lord, before we could get to taste them. But Diwali is one festival, where we can make any sweets or savouries which we fancy.

To be honest, I started cooking only after I got married.Getting the basic things done by itself was a huge achievement forget about doing all those special dishes for each and every festival. But I do make these special dishes and every year is a a learning experience. For Diwali, I always try to make different sweets every year, so that I can get to learn differents recipes. This year I zeroed in on Mysore Pak, Gulab Jamun, Kaju Katli for sweets and Nada pakoda and Mullu Thenkuzhal for the savouries. Several overseas calls later, I was in possession of the recipes, courtesy my mum. But I was very apprehensive about going ahead because of the approximation in the measurements. My search on the internet led to these 2 wonderful sites Chefinyou and Rak’s Kitchen. And believe me, one can never go wrong with the step-by-step instructions provided by these two talented ladies.

So, here’s what the final products look like:

A. Mysore Pak

mysorepak

Ingredients:

Besan/ Gram flour – 1 1/2 cups

sugar – 2 cups

ghee – 2 cups

water – 1/2 cup

Method:

  1. Grease a plate liberally with ghee and keep aside.
  2. Β In a pan keep the ghee on medium heat and keep it going.
  3. Sift the gram flour and add 1-2 tablepoons of ghee amd mix it.
  4. In a sugar add the water and sugar and bring the sugar syrup to a single thread consistency.
  5. Once the consistency is reached, add the flour little by little with your hand while constantly stirring with another. This is done so that no lumps are formed.
  6. Once the syrup and the flour are thoroughly mixed, add the ghee little by little. Keep stirring the batter
  7. Once all the ghee is absorbed, you can see that the flour mixture has gets thicker with a change in the colour and comes easily without sticking in the pan.
  8. At this point, take the mixture and pour it in the prepared greased plate. While it is still warm using a sharp knife cut it into desired shapes.

This method gave me the most amazing homemade mysore paks I had ever had. For a detailed recipe please refer here.

B. Gulab JamunGulab Jamun

The insructions on how to make these melt-in-mouth gulab jamuns are given here along with instructions on how to make khoya at home.

C. Kaju Katlis

005

I made these Kaju Katlis which are way better than the store bought ones following the recipe here.

Thank you , DK and Raju for making this Diwali so memorable with all the praises I got for the sweets I made. Not just DK and Raji but a big thank you all the bloggers who take the time and effort to blog the recipes with detailed instructions and pictures to accompany them.

This Diwali also marked a year of my efforts in blogging. A big thank you to all who stopped by and leaving encouraging comments inspite of my blogging at random intervals. A big hug and a thank you to Anita Menon for inspiring and motivating me and also for just being there.

8 thoughts on “A post to say Thank you

  1. All the goodies look beyond awesome. Drooling on my screen right now. I wanted to eat them off the fb page where you posted them before they got on to your blog. Thanks for the links, now I have to go and check out these fantastic bloggers and the wonderful treats that they post.

    Big hug to you too Gayathri!!! Looking forward to meeting you soon.

  2. Thank you so much for the kind word and for making me part of your wonderful Diwali celebration. They look so palatable that I wish you could somehow send some my way πŸ™‚

  3. Wow!! If I keep dropping in here, I will surely get inspired to try my hands at a few delicacies! Write more and often!

    And…Happy birthday!!!

  4. I always “try” on Diwali too..but it feels like SO much effort. Now that I have a kiddo, the hubby’s expectations are sky high. Everything on the screen looks so YUM.

Leave a Reply

