Soya Curry with Multi grain atta Roti

Disclaimer – This is not a paid review.

Never in my wildest dreams I thought I would do a post on Roti and sabji. Primarily for two reasons – one,  my rotis are never the perfect circle, they look more like shapes copied from Atlas, unintentionally though and two, I am not very confident about posting  on North Indian dishes.

However, there is always a first time for everything. When I went to the local hypermarket last week, I came across this

rs8

I have recently got into the  healthy-eating mode and I felt this had to be tried. You can see the names of the various grains that has gone into making this atta. At the same place, I also found soya granules from the same brand and I got that also since I had never made any dishes using soya granules.

I made the rotis and the sabji with great apprehension. The sabji was inspired by the picture in the box of the soya granules. It was very colourful and I tried to recreate the same using the picture to guess and add the ingredients. I was satisfied with both the roti and the sabji and so was the  husband. The rotis were soft even though I didnt use ghee. This was how the rotis looked like.

rs9

The roti was delicious on its own too. With the right amount of cummin and ginger, it was very tasty and along with the soya curry, the meal was very satisfying.

Soya Curry with Multi grain atta Roti.

Ingredients

a. For the rotis:

2 cups of multi grain  atta

1 cup hot water

salt, to taste

b. For the soya curry

1/2 cup soya granules

2 medium onions , sliced length wise

2 tomatoes , finely chopped

handful of frozen peas

1/2 teaspoon , cummin seeds

1/2 teaspoon of sambhar powder

a pinch of turmeric powder

2 teaspoons oil

salt, to taste

Method

a. For the rotis

In  a mixing bowl add the flour and salt to taste. Add the hot water and knead  well  and make 10 to 12 balls. Prepare rotis and roast the same on pan.

b. For the curry

Soak the soya granules in hot water  for about 25 minutes. Drain and squeeze excess water. Wash again and squeeze the excess water. Now it is ready for use.

1. In a kadai, heat oil and add cummin seeds.

2. Once they change colour, add onions and fry till they are a golden brown.

3. Add the finely chopped tomatoes and add the sambhar powder , turmeric and salt.

4. Cook till it turns into a gravy state.

5. Add the frozen peas now and cook for a couple of minutes

6. Add the washed soya granules and mix well

7. Cook for a couple of minutes  and remove from flame and the curry is now ready to serve.

rs1

You can even make the leftovers as wraps and make it as breakfast or lunch on  the go.

rs5

2 thoughts on “Soya Curry with Multi grain atta Roti

Leave a Reply

