Wheat Beet Brownies

Sometimes, just sometimes, my experiments on creating a new recipe work. These brownies are the result of one such experiment.

wbb8

My nephew is allergic to APF. He can have it in moderation but we consciously cut back wherever possible. He loves my cakes and likes chocolate cakes very much. One day, I had this terrible urge to bake some brownies but I wanted my nephew to enjoy them too. On an impulse I wrote down the measurements and since I was on a full experimenting mood, I went ahead to bake using the measurements. I had run out of chocolate chips but I had a couple of milk chocolate bars , which I used instead. I was anxiously for the oven timer to go off  and I was not disappointed when I took out the brownies. Rather, I was very happy. The brownies had the crusty layer and were soft underneath. They were better the next day. My nephew loved it. He hates beets but he couldnt feel the tatse of beets in the brownies. And yes, my son loved it.  A successful and a satisfying experiment, overall. (Patting myself on the back).

wbb1

 Ingredients

1 1/2 cups of  wheat flour

1/2 cup of cocoa powder

1 cup of  sugar

3/4 teaspoon of Baking powder

3/4 teaspoon of  Baking Soda

80 gms of chopped milk chocolate

3 tablespoons of  veg.oil/olive oil

1/2 cup of beet puree

3-4 tablespoons of water – or as required

Method

The method is pretty simple.

1. Preheat the oven to 180 C. Lightly butter and dust a 8 inch pan.

2. Add all the dry ingredients  in a mixing bowl.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.

4. Pour the batter to the prepared pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.

wbb12

And they go amazingly well with cold milk.

wbb11

Notes:

1. I felt that I could have reduced the amount of Baking Powder and Baking Soda.

2. I used chopped milk chocolate as I had run out of chocolate chips. You can use them too.

5 thoughts on “Wheat Beet Brownies

  1. Pingback: One Bowl Chocolate Cake II | ecrecipe

Leave a Reply

