Updates

My last post was more than a year ago and lots of things have happened in between then and now. I could have kept on blogging but I didn’t. Lazy me!!!
Now that we are in the last leg of 2014, I realise I could have done so much more. But better late than never. So the first thing I wanted to do is to revive my blog. So here I am with my Comeback post.

Another reason for my absence from this space is this – we have a new member in our family. Yes!! We have been blessed with a baby girl. I delivered on July 29. Since it was a c-section, the recovery period has been a little long.

image

The new little feet thats having me spellbound

I was overweight at the beginning of my pregnancy and I was told that I couldn’t gain more than 5-6 kilos. Added to that my BP was on the higher side. I was put on a low carb and high protein diet. I managed to curb my cravings till the last month but gave in to temptation just before my delivery . Strangely , even though it was a girl I was craving only spicy foods. Biryani and Pizza topped the list.

After a couple of false labour pains, my doc suggested that we go in for c-sec as we had already crossed the due date. Half an hour later I found myself in the Operation Theatre. Another half an hour passed before I heard a cry which sounded more like a meow. And minutes later my baby girl’s cheeks were rubbed against mine. I thanked the doctors before I passed out.

It’s 3 and a half months now and I am rediscovering the joys of having a baby around. Her reactions amuse me and at times,  her intelligence stuns me. Her toothless grin captivates me and her gurgles and giggles enthrall me. My friend Anita told me that having a girl will bring out a whole new feeling and how right she was!!!

In this comeback post, I would like to share a recipe for a healthy soup – the vegetable quinoa soup. I used to have this during my pregnancy and since quinoa is also good for lactation, I continue to have it. This recipe has been inspired by the Vegetable Quinoa soup by Two peas and their
pod. I will share the link here
http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/vegetable-quinoa-soup/

Healthy Vegetables Quinoa Soup.
This measurement serves 1.

Ingredients

image

1/4 cup carrot diced
1/2 cup pumpkin diced
1 small onion chopped finely ( you van even slice it)
1 small firm tomato
5 nos beans cut into 1 inch pieces
One pod garlic
2 tablespoons quinoa
2 1/2 cups water
1/2 tbsp butter
Dry herbs like oregano, basil (to taste)
Salt & pepper to taste.

Method:
1. Add butter in a pan and saute onions till they are translucent
2. Add garlic and saute for a minute.
3. Now add all the vegetables , saute for a minute
4. Now add water and add the washed quinoa.
5. Cook it uncovered till the water comes to a boil

6. Once the water boils, cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

7. The vegetables should be soft and the rings must have come outside the quinoa seeds.

8. Season it with some dry herbs like oregano, basil etc and salt and pepper to taste.

9. Serve it hot.

image

Hopefully, I intend to continue with regular posts hereon. My next task is to complete my Jordan visit posts along with a recipe I learnt there.

So, watch out for this space!!!

One thought on “Updates

  1. Welcome back darling…. Love it and Love Srinidhi ….. Will definitely make the soup you have suggested…… Enjoy every phase…

Leave a Reply

